This subject listing will guide you to indexes useful for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Some of these databases provide the full text
of articles, others only a citation, so you can locate an article in the library or request it through interlibrary loan services.
Try OneSearch! Search all databases at once or selected databases of interest.
Check to see if we carry a cited magazine or journal title (in print or electronically) in GateWay's Journal Locator
Need Help With Citing?
Click Here for MLA Style
Off-Campus Access is provided by student/library ID card plus PIN number or Username/Password.
(Stop by the library and pick up a database password list and verify your account prior to first use. Not all databases are available remotely.)
Hot Topics / Controversial Issues
Articles, Popular
Articles, Scholarly
Also Search: Newspapers
Database Info:
- Academic OneFile
(InfoTrac: Gale)
- Academic Search Premier
(EBSCOhost):
Provides full text for nearly 4,500 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts over 8,144 titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975 or further for over 100 journals, and searchable cited references for over 1,000 titles. Daily updates.
- CQ Researcher
(CQ Press):
Brief reports on current "hot" topics in the news written by experienced journalists. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Each report includes a pro-con feature, a chronology, and lengthy bibliographies. Reports extend back to 1991.
- Google Scholar (Google) Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
- General OneFile
(InfoTrac: Gale):
A mega index of over 10,000 titles, with abstracts to scholarly journals, newspapers, newswires and popular magazines in all subject areas. Over 6,000 full-text titles. Coverage 1980-present.
- MasterFILE Premier
(EBSCOhost):
MasterFILE contains indexing to over 2,400 periodicals in a wide range of subjects. Over 1,730 of the titles have the full-text online. Full-text coverage back to 1975. Also includes 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an image collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags. Subjects covered include general reference, business, education, general science, health, multi-cultural and more. Daily updates.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
(Gale, InfoTrac)
The acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
- SIRS Knowledge Source
(ProQuest):
Search across all 3 databases at the same time or individually to locate pertinent full-text articles and graphics. Covers current social and political issues, perspectives on the arts & humanities, and valuable current and historical government documents.
- SIRS Government Reporter:
This database delivers thousands of full-text documents and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, workplace issues, business and industry issued by the federal government. The almanac databases are valuable tools for researching current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more.
- SIRS Renaissance:
Current perspectives on the arts & humanitites. Provides current, dynamic information on music, literature, film, performing arts, culture, architecture, philosophy, religion and visual arts. Many articles are accompanied by full-color graphics - including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.
- SIRS Researcher:
A general reference database that contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals and U.S. government publications and may be accessed instantaneously. Articles are archived from 1989 to the present. Many articles are accompanied by graphics, including charts, maps, diagrams and illustrations.
Database Info:
- Business Source Premier
(EBSCOhost):
Provides full text for nearly 3,600 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Updated daily.
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center Online
(Facts On File): A comprehensive career research database, providing detailed up-to-date profiles of more than 2,900 top jobs in 93 industries. Besides careers and career resources, the Center also provides industry overviews, scholarship information, academic & non-academic programs and more.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
(U.S. Dept. Of Labor): The Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
- Regional Business News
(EBSCOhost): Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily.
- Vocational and Career Collection
(EBSCOhost):
Provides full text coverage for 400 trade and industry-related periodicals, with indexing and abstracts to over 600 titles. Full text dates back to 1985.
Database Info:
- Educator's Reference Desk:
An extensive education site with resources including Question Archive, a large virtual Library (with lesson plans and Infoguides), and GEM Database Searching
- ERIC
- ERIC
(EBSCOhost):
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. Links out to full text in other EBSCO databases when available.
- ERIC (OCLC, FirstSearch):
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes and abstracts thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources In Education Index (RIE) and more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
- Professional Development Collection
(EBSCOhost):
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of over 520 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals and over 200 educational reports are included.
- UMI ProQuest Digital Dissertations:
Freely access the most current two years of citations and abstracts in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
Database Info
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
(EbscoHost)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing in CINAHL. With more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- HealthSource Consumer Edition
(EbscoHost):
Find answers to many health related questions within this database. It offers coverage of general health and nutrition magazines. Over 130 of the 314 titles indexed provide the full-text. Indexing begins in 1984, with full-text coverage beginning in 1990. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, Clinical Reference Systems' consumer health reports, the full-text for over 1,200 health related pamphlets and 130 books. Weekly updates.
- HealthSource: Nusing/Academic Edition
(EbscoHost): Find answers to many health related questions within this database. It offers coverage of professional health care journals. Nearly 550 of the 850 titles indexed provide the full-text. Also includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Desk Dictionary. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Updated twice weekly.
- MEDLINE
- MEDLINE
(EBSCOhost):
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Links out to full text in other Ebsco products.
- MEDLINE
(Entrez-PubMed):
The National Library of Medicine's search service to access the 12 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- MEDLINE
(OCLC, FirstSearch): National Library of Medicine's biomedical index (1965-)
- MEDLINEplus:
Health Information from the National Library of Medicine.
- Nature:
Full text access to the premier international weekly science journal, including the life sciences
- NLM Gateway Search:
The NLM Gateway allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The current Gateway searches MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings, HSRProj, MEDLINEplus and DIRLINE.
- OVID
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection with full text access to 64+ LW&W titles.
- PubMedCentral
U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
- Psychology & Behavioral Health Collection
(EbscoHost):
Provides coverage of more than 575 full text journals, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. This Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Updated daily.
Database Info:
- African American Experience (Greenwood Publishing Group; Off-campus access: username/password)
- AnthroSource
(American Anthropological Association; On-Campus Access Only): Electronic archive of 32 AAA journals. Look for the green dot, indicating full access. Note that GateWay does not subscribe to JSTOR for deep archive access.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
(ProQuest):
The full text of over 200 titles of the ethnic, minority and native press, searchable in both English and Spanish, with coverage back to 1990. Presents an alternative to the mainstream press, the other sides of the stories.
- CultureGrams
(ProQuest): Explore the cultures of various countries and information concerning the various states of the United States. Includes biographies, photo gallery and recipes.
- Daily Life Online:
Includes Daily Life Through History and World Cultures Today (Greenwood Publishing Group; Off-campus: Username/Password)
- History Reference Center
Includes full text from over 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, full text for over130 leading history periodicals, more than 61,100 historical documents, 66,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
- Issues and Controversies in American Government
(Facts.com)
- Latino American Experience (Greenwood Publishing Group; Off-campus access: username/password)
- Military and Government Collection
(EBSCOhost):
Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
- SIRS Knowledge Source
(ProQuest):
Search across all 3 databases at the same time or individually to locate pertinent fulltext articles and graphics. Covers current social and political issues, perspectives on the arts & humanities, and valuable current and historical government documents.
- Online Tutorial
- Research Strategies Worksheet
- SIRS Government Reporter:
The main database delivers thousands of full-text documents and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, workplace issues, business and industry. The almanac databases are valuable tools for researching current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more.
- SIRS Renaissance:
Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanitites. Provides current, dynamic information on music, literature, film, performing arts, culture, architecture, philosophy, religiona and visual arts. Many articles are accompanied by full-color graphics — including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.
- SIRS Researcher:
A general reference database that contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals and U.S. government publications and may be accessed instantaneously. Articles are archived from 1989 to the present. Many articles are accompanied by graphics, including charts, maps, diagrams and illustrations.
- World Folklore and Folklife (Greenwood Publishing Group; Off-campus access: username/password)
Database Info:
-
Gale's Literary Index (Gale: free web access)
A master index to the major literature series published by Gale Group, containing complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings. Series held by GateWay are Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Ninetheenth-Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
-
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
: A comprehensive literature database, containing author biographies and critical essays and articles on their writings.
-
Biography Resource Center (Gale)
:
A biography database. Every profile provides complete information on the subject's life, career, or historical significance. Artists, authors, scientists, journalists, business people, actors, sports figures, politicians and many others are covered.
Database Info:
- Arizona Republic within America's Newspapers
(NewsBank): The full text of the Arizona Republic online (1999-current) including the Arizona Business Gazette. Provides a local perspective on national and international news besides the local news in general. Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. Free-lance articles were recently removed.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
:
The full text of over 200 titles covering the news, culture and history of the ethnic, minority and native press, searchable in both English and Spanish, with coverage back to 1990. Presents an alternative to the mainstream press, the other sides of the stories.
- National News Core
(Proquest)
Full-text coverage of 5 major newspapers, including The New York Times (1999- ), Wall Street Journal (1984- ), Washington Post (Dec. 1997-) , Los Angeles Times (1990- ) and the Christian Science Monitor (1990- ).
- World News Digest
(Facts.com) Digest of news back to 1940.
Database Info:
- AccuNet/AP Multimedai Archvie (AccuWeather) Image database, copyright cleared for educational non-profit use.
- Ebrary (eBook collection)
- Encyclopeadia Britannica
- Britannica Online:
The up-to-date multimedia encyclopedia with many additional features, including maps, video clips, web links to related Internet sites and an online dictionary. Also includes the Britannica Student Encyclopedia.
- GPO Monthly Catalog (OCLC, FirstSearch):
Indexes print and electronic U.S. Government information resources created and published by Federal agencies. Coverage 1976 to present.
- FirstSearch (OCLC): Search interface to multiple databases.
- ArticleFirst:
A citation index of articles from the contents pages of nearly 12,600 journals in all areas of study. Coverage 1990-present.
- Clase Periodica : Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
- ECO
Electronic Collections Online is an index to the contents of over 2700 journals in a variety of subject areas.
- ERIC
Search the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) database (1966- ) for educational topics.
- GPO Monthly Catalog
Indexes print and electronic U. S. Government information resources created and published by Federal agencies. Coverage 1976 to present.
- MEDLINE
National Library of Medicine's biomedical index (1965-).
- PapersFirst
Includes journal articles dealing with scholarly and academic topics that have appeared in scholarly periodicals from 1770-1993.
- ProceedingsFirst
Over 19,000 citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
- World Almanacs

This database includes the 1998 World Almanac Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, World Almanac Knowledge Source and the World Almanac for Kids.
- WorldCat
An index to over 40 million titles cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including Internet sites.
- WorldCat Dissertations: A database subset of WorldCat of all dissertations and theses
- Gale Virtual Reference Library:
Small specialized eBook collection of over 45 reference titles, covering history, law, education, forensics, biography and more.
- World Almanacs
(OCLC, FirstSearch):
This database includes the 1998 World Almanac Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, and the World Almanac for Kids.
- WorldCat (OCLC, FirstSearch):
An index to over 40 million titles cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century, books, media, and Internet sources.
Database Info:
- AccessScience
(McGraw-Hill):
Full search capabilities of the 10th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology with new and revised content updated regularly. Includes Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, new references, links to related web sites, learning resources and study guides, added illustrations, visual learning modules, RSS feeds and much more.
- AGRICOLA:
AGRICultural OnLine Access. A bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- GreenFile (EBSCO) Free database dedicated to issues surrounding humans' impact on the environment
- National Environmental Publications Information System (EPA documents; free website)
- Nature:
Online full text access to the primier international science journal back to 1950
- Vocational and Career Collection
(EBSCOhost):
Provides full text coverage for 400 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Database Info:
- African American Experience (Greenwood Publishing Group; Off-campus access: username/password)
- CQ Researcher
(CQ Press):
Brief reports on current "hot" topics in the news written by experienced journalists.Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Each report includes a pro-con feature, a chronology, and lengthy bibliographies. Reports extend back to 1991.
- Latino American Experience (Greenwood Publishing Group; Off-campus access: username/password)
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
(Gale):
The acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost):
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Useful tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. Updated daily.
- SIRS Knowledge Source
(ProQuest):
Search across all 3 databases at the same time or individually to locate pertinent full-text articles and graphics. Covers current social and political issues, perspectives on the arts & humanities, and valuable current and historical government documents.
- SIRS Government Reporter:
This database delivers thousands of full-text documents and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, workplace issues, business and industry issued by the federal government. The almanac databases are valuable tools for researching current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more.
- SIRS Renaissance:
Current perspectives on the arts & humanitites. Provides current, dynamic information on music, literature, film, performing arts, culture, architecture, philosophy, religion and visual arts. Many articles are accompanied by full-color graphics — including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.
- SIRS Researcher:
A general reference database that contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals and U.S. government publications and may be accessed instantaneously. Articles are archived from 1989 to the present. Many articles are accompanied by graphics, including charts, maps, diagrams and illustrations.
- Sociological Collection
(EbscoHost:
Off-campus: Username/password with remote URL) A comprehensive database with nearly 500 full text titles. This database provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
- World Folklore and Folklife (Greenwood Publishing Group; Off-campus access: username/password)