GateWay Community College logo
GateWay Community College logo
admin logon / home / library / databases / by title
Library

Databases

By Title

 
 

  

full-text keyThis symbol indicates that at least some full-text articles are available.

Check to see if we carry a title in print or electronically within GateWay's Journal Locator

For Access From Off-Campus:  Click on the Off-Campus Link in the OTHER section below. (Not all databases are available from off-campus; some require passwords. Stop by the library and pick up a database password list. Account validation required prior to first use.)

Try OneSearch!  Search all databases at once or selected.


Name: Academic OneFile (Gale)

Date Range: 1980-

Subject Coverage: Multiple Disciplines  (All subjects)  full-text key 3,900 scholarly titles (many peer-reviewed); podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN; includes the full-text of the New York Times, 1995 to current

Other:


Name: Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1975-

Subject Coverage: Multiple Disciplines  (All subjects) full-text key4,500 scholarly titles (over 3,700 peer-reviewed)

Other:


Name: AccessScience McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of  Science & Technology (10th ed.)

Date Range: Current

Subject Coverage: Science/Technology Encyclopedia full-text key

Other:


Name: Accunet/AP Multimedia Archive

Date Range: 1820's-

Subject Coverage: Copyright cleared photos, graphs, audio, & text for educational purposes from the Associated Pressfull-text key

Other:


Name: African American Experience (The American Mosaic: Greenwood Publishing Group)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: History and culture of African Americans in the United States, over four hundred volumes of content from encyclopedias to biographies full-text key

Other:


Name:
  America's News Magazines (NewsBank)

Date Range: 1993-

Subject Coverage: full-text key27 popular magazines covering business, lifestyle, sports, science and technology, news and more  

Other:


Name:  America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: full-text key730 National, Regional and Local U.S. Newspapers.  Includes access to the local Arizona Republic, Arizona Daily Star and the Tucson Citizen  

Other:


Name:  AnthroSource (American Anthropological Association)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Anthropology full-text keyfull text archive of 32 journals, bulletins from the AAA (some incomplete runs).  Note: No JSTOR access

Other:

  • Info
  • Off-Campus Access (Not Yet Available; ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY)
  • How to Cite (MLA)


Name: Arizona Republic (NewsBank)

Date Range: 1999-  Access within America's Newspapers
Subject Coverage: Local News  full-text key

Other:


Name: Biography Resource Center
 + Marquis Who's Who (Gale)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Biographies full-text key

Other:


 Name: Britannica
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Date Range: Current

Subject Coverage: Multimedia Encyclopedias full-text key Includes Merriam-Webster collegiate dictionary and thesaurus, Year in Review, World Atlas and Timeline.

Other:


Name: Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1965- (Over 350 FT back to 1922)

Subject Coverage: Business full-text key2,300 journals (Over 1,100 peer-reviewed). Includes country economic reports and company profiles

Other:


Name: CINAHL Plus With Full Text (EBSCOhost) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature

Date Range: 1981-

Subject Coverage: Allied Health/Nursing/Medical  full-text key620 titles; Includes LexiPal for drug information.

Other:


Name: CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press)

Date Range: 1991-

Subject Coverage: Reports on hot topics and current Issues  full-text key

Other:


Name: CultureGrams (ProQuest)

Date Range: Current

Subject Coverage: Country and state reports  full-text key

Other:


Name: Daily Life Online (Premier edition; Greenwood Publishing Group)

  • Daily Life Through History
  • World Cultures Today

Date Range: Ancient and Modern times

Subject Coverage: Daily life and culture through the agesfull-text key

Other:


Name: Ebrary  [eBook collection]

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: eBook collection full-text keyOver 36,000 titles + 1,050 maps. Download the free ebrary reader plugin. Sign in to create a personal Bookshelf account for highlighting, notes and your own favorite list of books

Other:


Name: EBSCOhost

  • Academic Search Premier full-text key
  • Business Source Premierfull-text key
    • Enhanced Business Interface full-text key
  • CINAHL Plus With Full Text full-text key
  • ERIC [linkout to fulltext]
  • Health Source: Nursing/ Academic edition full-text key
  • Health Source: Consumer edition full-text key
  • History Reference Center full-text key
  • MasterFILE Premier full-text key
  • MEDLINE [linkout to fulltext]
  • Military and Government Collection full-text key
  • Professional Development Collection full-text key
  • Psychology and Behavioral Health Collection full-text key
  • Regional Business News full-text key
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection full-text key
  • Sociological Collectionfull-text key 
  • Vocational and Career Collection full-text key 

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Multiple Disciplines  full-text key

Other:


Name: EJS (Electronic Journals Service: EBSCOhost)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Ejournals full-text key43 Ejournals  (Access may require a username/password; Ask a Librarian for assistance)

Other:

  • On Campus or Library Access Only

Name: ERIC:  Educational Resources Information Center

  • ERIC (EBSCOhost: Off campus access, ID/PIN number)
  • ERIC (FirstSearch: Off campus access, ID/PIN number)
  • Educator's Reference Desk (free site)
  • ERIC (National Library of Education; free site) 

Date Range: 1966-

Subject Coverage: Education Index of journal articles and reports full-text key2,200 digests [Link Out to limited full-text within EBSCOhost databases]

Other:


Name: Ethnic NewsWatch  (ProQuest)

Date Range: 1990-

Subject Coverage: News from Minority Presses  full-text key276 titles

Other:


Name: FirstSearch (12 databases)

  • ArticleFirst
  • Clase Periodica
  • Ebooks
  • Electronic Collection Online (ECO)
  • ERIC
  • GPO 
  • MEDLINE
  • PapersFirst
  • Proceedings
  • World Almanacs full-text key
  • WorldCat
  • WorldCat Dissertations

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Multiple Disciplines  full-text key

Other:


Name: Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

Date Range: Current

Subject Coverage:  eBook reference collection full-text key43 titles

  • American Law Yearbook 2005, 2006
  • Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000
  • Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World , 2v, 2004
  • Child Development, 2002
  • Crime and Punishment: Essential Primary Sources, 2006
  • Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco: Learning About Addictive Behavior, 3v, 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Aging, 4v, 2002
  • Encyclopedia of American Religions, 7th Ed., 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society, 3v, 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, 2nd Ed., 4v, 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd Ed., 8v, 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security, 3v, 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity, 3v, 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Governance, 2v, 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement,  3v, 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Law and Society, 3v, 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Politics, 2v, 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities, 2v, 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd Ed., 5v, 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Terrorism, 2003
  • Encyclopedia of the American Constitution, 2nd Ed., 6v, 2000
  • Encyclopedia of U.S. National Security, 2v, 2006
  • Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime, 2v, 2005
  • Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2nd Ed., 23v, 2004
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy Through Adolescence, 4v, 2006
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, 2nd Ed., 2v, 2006
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, 2v, 2003
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2nd Ed., 3v, 2000
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2nd Ed., 2001
  • Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, 2v, 1999
  • Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities, 4v, 2006
  • National Survey of State Laws, Vol. 1, 5th Ed., 2005
  • Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z, 2v, 2004
  • Political Parties of the World, 6th Ed., 2005
  • West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd Ed., 13v, 2005
  • World Education Encyclopedia , 2nd Ed, 3v, 2001
  • World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and
  • Correctional Systems, 2nd Ed., 2v, 2006
  • World of Forensic Science, 2v, 2005
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 11th Ed., 6v, 2004


Other:


Name:  General OneFile (InfoTrac Web: Gale)

Date Range: 1980-

Subject Coverage: Multiple Disciplines  full-text key6,584 titles

Other:


Name: Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1985-

Subject Coverage: Consumer Health full-text key80 titles; includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, 1,000 health pamphlets and over 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports & LexiPAL drug guides

Other:


Name: Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1975-

Subject Coverage: Allied Health/Medical/Nursing  full-text key550 titles; includes Merriam Webster's Medical  Dictionary & LexiPAL drug guides

Other:


Name: InfoTrac Web  (Gale)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Multiple Disciplines  full-text key

Other:


Name:  Issues and Controversies

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Hot topics and controversial issues full-text key

Other:


 Name:  Issues and Controversies in American History

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Controversies throughout American history full-text key

Other:


Name:  Latino American Experience (The American Mosaic: Greenwood Publishing Group)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: History and culture of Latinos in the United States, over two hundred volumes of content from encyclopedias to biographies full-text key

Other:


Name:  Lippincott Williams &Wilkins Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection  (OVID)

Date Range: Varies. Quarterly updates

Subject Coverage: Nursing & Healthfull-text key64 nursing journal titles

Other:


Name: Literature Resource Center (Gale)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Literature (Biographical, critical essays, historical context, social implications, etc.) full-text key

 Other:


Name: MasterFILE Premier  (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1975-

Subject Coverage: Multiple Disciplines  full-text key1,750 general periodical titles + 500 full text reference books,  85,827 biographies, 105,789 primary source documents, and an image collection of 285,912 photos, maps and flags; plus the American Heritage Dictionary (4th ed.)

Other:


Name: MEDLINE (National Library Of Medicine)

Date Range: 1965-

Subject Coverage: Health/Nursing/Biomedical Index full-text keyLIMITED [Link-Out to full text within EBSCOhost and PubMed]

Other:


Name: Military and Government Collection (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Government/Military full-text key300 titles plus 245 pamphlets

Other:


Name: National News 5 (ProQuest)

Date Range: 1980-

  • New York Times  FT 1980-
  • Wall Street Journal FT 1984-
  • Washington Post FT Dec. 1987-
  • Los Angeles Times FT 1985-
  • Christian Science Monitor FT 1988-

Subject Coverage: News from: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor full-text key5 titles 

Other:


Name:  Nature International Weekly Journal

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Life Sciences

Other:


Name:  OneSearch

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Multidisciplinary, all subjects; Search across all MCCCD databases at once, or select from the list

Other:


Name: Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  (Gale)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Social Issues and hot topicsfull-text key

Other:


Name:  OVID Lippincott Williams &Wilkins Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection 

Date Range: Varies. Quarterly updates

Subject Coverage: Nursing & Healthfull-text key64+ core nursing journal titles

Other:

Name: Professional Development Collection  (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1965-

Subject Coverage: Education full-text key520 titles (Over 350 peer-reviewed).  Indexes over 700 journals.  Includes over 200 educational reports

Other:


Name: ProQuest

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: National and Multicultural News  full-text key

Other:


Name: Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1965-

Subject Coverage: Psychology full-text key575 titles (Over 550 peer-reviewed)

Other:


Name: Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: U.S. Business News from metropolitan and rural areas;  full-text key75 titles

Other:


Name: Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1975-

Subject Coverage: Religion/Philosophy full-text key300 titles (Over 250 peer-reviewed)

Other:


Name: Science Direct, College edition

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Health and Life Sciences collectionfull-text key

Other:

  • Not available from Off-campus at this time  
  • How To Cite (MLA)

Name: SIRS Knowledge Source  (ProQuest)

  • SIRS Government Reporter (Historic & government documents, directories, almanacs)
  • SIRS Renaissance (Arts & humanities)
  • SIRS Researcher (Social issues) 

Date Range: 1988-

Subject Coverage: Multiple Disciplines; Social Issues, Government documents, and the Arts.  full-text keyselective articles

Other:


Name: Sociological Collection  (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1965-

Subject Coverage: Sociology & Psychology full-text key500 peer-reviewed titles

Other:


Name: Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCOhost)

Date Range: 1985-

Subject Coverage: Trade and Industry related publications full-text key350 titles

Other:


Name: World Folklore and Folklife (Greenwood Publishing Group)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: Covers folklore and folklife from around the world, with hundreds of volumes of content from encyclopedias to biographies full-text key

Other:


Name: World News Digest (Facts.com)

Date Range: 1940-present

Subject Coverage: U.S. and World News  full-text key

Other:

  • Off-Campus Access: (Username/Password)
  • How To Cite (MLA)

Name: WorldAlmanac (FirstSearch)

Date Range: Varies

Subject Coverage: 4 Almanacs + Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia full-text key

Other: