Many databases are now available online via the Internet for doing research. Some of these are directories, others indexes and many are hybrids (combination of both index, abstract and full or selective full text, some with images).
Some of these are commercial databases and are only accessible on GateWay campus computers at this time due to licensing restrictions. Remote access may be limited for these databases to the campus community (students, faculty and staff). Some databases are unrestricted and freely available to anyone with an Internet connection.
NOTE: Remember that many of the articles listed may be available in the local library periodicals collection. Check titles for local availability in the Library Catalog . Journal articles indexed which are not available at GateWay may be requested through Interlibrary Loan .
Database Information by Vendor or Vendor system
Accunet/AP Multimedia Archive
CQ Press
EBSCOhost [EBSCO Publishing]
- Academic Search Premier
- Book Index with Reviews
- Business Source Premier: Business database with over 3,800 full text titles, including Forbes, Fortune, The Economist and others. Indexing begins in 1985. Daily updates.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- ERIC
- Health Source, Consumer Edition
- Health Source, Nursing/Academic Edition: Find answers to many health related questions within this database. It offers coverage of professional health care journals. Over 600 titles with full-text. Indexing begins in 1984, with full-text coverage beginning in 1990. Also includes Clinical Pharmacology and Stedman's Medical Dictionary . Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Daily updates.
- MagillOnHistory
- MasterFILE Premier: MasterFILE contains indexing to over 2,500 periodicals in a wide range of subjects. Over 1,900 of the titles have the fulltext online. Indexing dates from 1984- , with fulltext coverage back to 1990. Subjects covered include general reference, business, health, multi-cultural and more. Daily updates.
- MEDLINE
- Military and Government Collection
- Professional Development Collection
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- Regional Business News
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
- Sociological Collection: A comprehensive database with 520 full text titles. This database provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Also strong in psychology.
- Vocational and Career Collection
Encyclopædia Britannica
- Britannica Online: The up-to-date multimedia encyclopedia with many additional features, including maps, web links to related Internet sites and an online dictionary.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center, U.S. Dept. of Education)
- Educator's Reference Desk
- ERIC: The Education Resources Information Center , provides a variety of services and products on a broad range of education related issues. "Search the ERIC Database" for over 850,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
- ERIC (EbscoHOST)
- ERIC (FirstSearch)
Facts on File
Facts.com
FirstSearch [OCLC] :
- Articles First: A citation index of articles from nearly 12,600 journals in all areas of study. Coverage 1990-present.
- Clase Periodica
- Ebooks
- ECO: Electronic Collection Online
- ERIC: Search the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) database (1966- ) for educational topics.
- GPO Monthly Catalog: Indexes print and electronic U. S. Government information resources created and published by Federal agencies. Coverage 1976 to present.
- Medline: National Library of Medicine's biomedical index (1965-)
- Papers First: Includes journal articles dealing with scholarly and academic topics that have appeared in scholarly periodicals from 1770-1993.
- Proceedings First: Over 19,000 citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
- World Almanacs: This database includes the 1998 World Almanac Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, World Almanac Knowledge Source and the World Almanac for Kids.
- WorldCat: An index to over 40 million titles cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century, books, media, and Internet sources.
- WorldCatDissertations
McGraw-Hill
- AccessScience: Full search capabilities of the 8th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology with new and revised content updated regularly. Includes biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, new references, links to related web sites, learning resources and study guides, added illustrations and much more.
National Library of Medicine
- MEDLINE (EbscoHost)
- MEDLINE (FirstSearch)
- MEDLINEplus: Medical database from the National Library of Medicine covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre clinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from about 3,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries during the current four years.
- NLM GateWay Search
- PubMed: The National Library of Medicine's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.
- PubMedCentral
NewsBank InfoWeb
- America's News Magazines
- America's Newspapers
- Arizona Republic: The full text of the Arizona Republic (1999-current), including the Arizona Business Gazette . Provides a local perspective on national and international news besides the local news in general. Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
ProQuest [Bell & Howell Information and Learning Company]
- CultureGrams
- Ethnic NewsWatch: The full text of over 200 titles of the ethnic, minority and native press, searchable in both English and Spanish, with coverage back to 1988. Presents an alternative to the mainstream press, the other sides of the stories.
- Los Angeles Times
- National News 5: Full-text coverage of 5 major newspaperst, including The New York Times (1999- ), Wall Street Journal (1984- ), Washington Post (Dec. 1997-) , Los Angeles Times (1990- ) and the Christian Science Monitor (1990-).
SIRS Knowledge Source: Search across all 3 databases at the same time or individually to locate pertinent fulltext articles and graphics. Covers current social and political issues, perspectives on the arts & humanities, and valuable current and historical government documents.
- SIRS Government Reporter : The main database delivers thousands of full-text documents and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, workplace issues, business and industry. The almanac databases are valuable tools for researching current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more.
- SIRS Renaissance : Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanitites. Provides current, dynamic information on music , literature, film, performing arts, culture, architecture, philosophy, religiona and visual arts. Many articles are accompanied by full-color graphics - including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.
- SIRS Researcher : A general reference database that contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals and U.S. government publications and may be accessed instantaneously. Articles are archived from 1989 to the present. Many articles are accompanied by graphics, including charts, maps, diagrams and illustrations.
Thomson Gale