GateWay Community College logo
GateWay Community College logo
admin logon / home / library / databases / how to cite
Library

Databases

How To Cite

 
 

(MLA Style) : Citation Information For Works From Library Subscription Services  

See Template and Example Below (*Section 5.9.7 MLA)

Template for Journal Article from Library Subscription Service/Database:

Author (Last name, First). "Title of Article." Journal Title. Volume.Number (Year Published): Page Numbers. Name of Database. [Vendor, optional]. Name of Service. Name of Library (Where Accessed), Location (City). Date Accessed (d/m/y) <URL of Service's Home Page, if known>.

Note: For paging, if the service provides only the starting page number of the article's original print publication, then, give the starting page number, followed by a hypen space and ending with a period. e.g. 192- .

Example for Journal Article From Library Subscription Service/Database:

Hansen, Brian. "Combating Plagiarism." CQ Researcher .   13.32 (2003): 773- . CQ Researcher. CQ Press. GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix . 2 Dec. 2003.   < http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher>

*Refer to MLA Handbook For Writers of Research Papers, Joseph Gibaldi. 6th ed. 2003. [On Reserve in the Library]

Looking for more on MLA? Click here.

Library Subscription Services: Information for MLA Citations

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Name of Database
Vendor/Service
Access Location (Library, City)
URL

Academic OneFile
Gale 
InfoTrac
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://infotrac.galegroup.com

Academic Search Premier
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

America's Newspapers
NewsBank
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://infoweb.newsbank.com

America's News Magazines
NewsBank 
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://infoweb.newsbank.com

Arizona Republic. America's Newspapers 
NewsBank
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://infoweb.newsbank.com

Business Source Premier
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

CINAHL Plus With Full Text
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com


CQ Researcher Online
CQ Press
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc.
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.eb.com

ERIC
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com 

ERIC
OCLC
FirstSearch
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://firstsearch.oclc.org

Ethnic NewsWatch
ProQuest
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://proquest.umi.com

Expanded Academic ASAP
Gale 
InfoTrac
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://infotrac.galegroup.com

Health Source - Consumer Edition
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

Issues & Controversies
Facts On File 
Facts.com
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://www.2facts.com

Issues & Controversies In American History
Facts On File 
Facts.com
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://www.2facts.com

MasterFILE Premier
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

MEDLINE
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

MEDLINE
OCLC
FirstSearch
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://firstsearch.oclc.org

Military & Government Collection
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

National Newspapers 5
ProQuest
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://proquest.umi.com

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Gale 
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://find.galegroup.com/ovrc

Professional Development Collection
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

Regional Business News
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

Religion and Philosophy Collection
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

SIRS Government Reporter
ProQuest
SIRS Knowledge Source
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://sks.sirs.com

SIRS Renaissance
ProQuest
SIRS Knowledge Source
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://sks.sirs.com

SIRS Researcher
ProQuest
SIRS Knowledge Source
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://sks.sirs.com

Sociological Collection
EBSCO
EBSCOhost
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://search.ebscohost.com

World News Digest
Facts On File 
Facts.com
GateWay Comm. Coll. Lib., Phoenix
http://www.2facts.com

Looking for more on MLA? Click here.