Off-Campus Access to Restricted Databases
Remote access is provided as a service to members of the GateWay community (students, faculty and staff) according to license agreements with the various service providers. Before you are able to connect, you must be registered as a current library user in the library system.
Follow the steps below for accessing the Online Databases available from off-campus.
- Validate your college or library identification card at the Library Circulation Desk. Before you are able to connect, you must be registered as a current library user. This must be done each semester.
- Enter a valid GateWay Library ID number (all 13 digits, no spaces) located on your college ID or library card in the space provided.
- Enter a valid PIN number (last 4 digits of your home phone number from your library account). If you change phone numbers, please update your library account information.
College ID NOTE:
New ID cards will have the Library number (13 digit number) imprinted on the back of your picture ID, above the barcode.
This number is used for placing online book requests through our Library Catalog (Request Title), for accessing our Online Databases from home, and for checking your library account online, the My Account feature within the Catalog.
If you received a card without an imprinted number, please contact the library.
NOTE: Not all of the databases are available remotely at this time. Some of the databases are accessible from off-campus through the use of usernames and passwords, rather than by ID number. Please pick-up a password list at the library. These are designated as Off-Campus Access (Username/Password) from the database lists.
Your browser must be configured to accept cookies. Firewall settings may prevent access. Full image viewing (PDF) requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in. Contact the library if you are having difficulty connecting.
To Proceed:
- Return to the Databases Page, then select a database with the Off-Campus designation from the Subject or Title list. Enter the username/password from the password list (available at the Circulation Desk at the Library) or your ID/PIN numbers, as designated.
- Or, Enter the Web Catalog. From the Entry Screen, select the tab for Databases at the top of the screen. Enter your Student/Library ID/PIN number. Make your selection from the list of databases that appear. This database list is limited to the databases subscribed to by MCCCD and not the complete list of databases available via GateWay's database listing, which includes those additional databases subscribed to locally.